Management Consulting 2018

The consulting market is running better than it has for a long time. And this is already the fourth year in a row. Fueled by numerous tasks related to digitalization, by geopolitical turbulence, a sharp rise in complexity in business, politics and society, and cycles of change that are accelerating, the business of the large consulting firms is moving to ever new heights. In this dynamic environment, it is becoming more and more important – but also more and more difficult – for their clients to form an opinion about the areas in which the specific strengths and weaknesses of individual consulting firms are located.

Since 1998, our studies have contributed to enhancing the transparency of the consulting market – practice-oriented, research-based and independent. In doing so, we can rely on a network of experienced board members and executives from major German companies. Their trust and willingness to support us with their assessments and evaluations is our greatest asset. It obliges us not only to conduct research using scientifically proven methods, but also and above all to be uncompromisingly independent of all actors and interest groups.

Please note: all our studies are published in German.

Content of the study

This year, we will once again be looking at the performance and competencies of Germany’s leading management consultants from a range of perspectives – from the perspective of a board member, a budget manager and a project manager, as well as from the special perspective of DAX30 companies.

Which consultant has the greatest expertise in the consulting fields of strategic planning, digital transformation, mergers & acquisitions, post-merger integration, organization and talent management, marketing and sales, innovation and growth, operations management, restructuring and transformation, and business technology? In which of these areas do clients have the largest budgets? Which consultants are particularly present in which industries? Who has the greatest knowledge of the market, who has the greatest implementation competence? Who works best in a team, who has the best methodical, technical and analytical skills? Who has the most satisfied customers? Questions like these are answered in detail in the study. In clear charts and rankings, in which the best five consultants in each category are listed – because we want to show which consultants are rated particularly highly, but we don’t want to discredit anyone.

Take a look at the study:

Who took part?

The study involved 1,032 managers from major German companies with an annual turnover of at least half a billion euros – including 136 managers from DAX30 companies. The data was collected in writing from May to July 2018 using a standardized questionnaire and supplemented by telephone and personal interviews. 235 respondents gathered their experience with consultants as board members or managing directors, 412 as budget managers and 341 as project managers.

Prices and conditions of purchase

The main volume of the study, in which the overall results, the special view of the DAX30 companies and the perspectives of board members, budget managers and project managers are presented on 992 pages, is available for 2,900 euros plus VAT. In addition, supplementary volumes are available for the five sectors financial services (172 pages), chemicals and basic materials (170 pages), consumer goods and retail (168 pages), automotive (173 pages) as well as telecommunications, media, IT and high-tech (172 pages), each at a price of 800 euros plus VAT. Please note that the industry volumes cannot be obtained individually, but only in conjunction with the main volume of the study. The study will be delivered in electronic form as a PDF file by e-mail.

If you are interested, please send an e-mail to studien(at)wgmb.org.

Management Consulting 2018

Der Beratungsmarkt läuft so gut wie lange nicht. Und das bereits im vierten Jahr. Befeuert durch zahlreiche Aufgaben rund um die Digitalisierung, aber auch durch geopolitische Turbulenzen, eine stark ansteigende Komplexität in Wirtschaft, Politik und Gesellschaft sowie Veränderungszyklen, die sich mehr und mehr beschleunigen, bewegt sich das Geschäft der großen Beratungs-firmen in immer neue Höhen. Für ihre Auftraggeber wird es in diesem dynamischen Umfeld immer wichtiger – aber auch immer schwieriger –, sich ein Urteil darüber zu bilden, in welchen Bereichen die speziellen Stärken und Schwächen einzelner Beratungsfirmen liegen.

Seit 1998 tragen unsere Studien dazu bei, die Transparenz des Beratungsmarktes zu erhöhen – praxisnah, wissenschaftlich und unabhängig. Dabei können wir auf ein über die Jahre gewachsenes Netzwerk aus erfahrenen Aufsichtsräten, Vorständen und Führungskräften aus deutschen Groß-unternehmen und aus dem gehobenen Mittelstand bauen. Ihr Vertrauen und ihre Bereitschaft, uns immer wieder mit ihren Einschätzungen und Bewertungen zur Seite zu stehen und unsere Arbeit als Diskussions- und Sparringspartner zu begleiten, ist unser größtes Kapital. Es verpflichtet uns nicht nur zur Forschungsarbeit nach wissenschaftlich gesicherten Methoden, sondern auch und vor allem zur kompromisslosen Unabhängigkeit gegenüber sämtlichen Akteuren und Interessengruppen.

Zum Inhalt der Studie

Auch in diesem Jahr befassen wir uns wieder aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven mit der Leistungsfähigkeit und den Kompetenzen der oben genannten Berater – aus der Perspektive eines Vorstands, der eines Budgetverantwortlichen und der eines Projektleiters sowie aus der speziellen Sicht der DAX30-Konzerne.

Welcher Berater hat die größten Kompetenzen in den Beratungsfeldern Strategische Planung, Digitalisierung, Mergers & Acquisitions, Post Merger Integration, Organisation und Talent Management, Marketing und Vertrieb, Innovation und Wachstum, Operations Management, Restrukturierung und Transformation und Business Technology? In welche dieser Bereiche fließen auf Seiten der Kunden die größten Budgets? Welche Berater sind in welchen Branchen besonders präsent? Wer von ihnen hat die größte Marktkenntnis, wer die höchste Umsetzungskompetenz? Wer arbeitet am besten im Team, wer hat die besten methodischen, fachlichen und analytischen Fähigkeiten? Wer hat die zufriedensten Kunden? Fragen wie diese werden in der Studie detailliert beantwortet. In übersichtlichen Grafiken und Rankings, in denen die jeweils besten fünf Berater einer Kategorie aufgeführt sind – denn wir wollen zeigen, welche Berater besonders gut eingeschätzt werden, wir wollen jedoch niemanden diskreditieren.

Werfen Sie einen Blick in die Studie:

Wer hat teilgenommen?

An der Studie haben sich 1.032 Führungskräfte deutscher Großunternehmen mit einem Jahresumsatz von mindestens einer halben Milliarde Euro beteiligt – darunter 136 Führungskräfte aus DAX30-Unternehmen. Die Erhebung der Daten erfolgte schriftlich von Mai bis Juli 2018 mithilfe eines standardisierten Fragebogens und wurde durch telefonische und persönliche Interviews ergänzt. 235 Befragte haben ihre Erfahrungen mit Beratern als Vorstände oder Geschäftsführer gesammelt, 412 als Budgetverantwortliche und 341 als Projektleiter.

Preise und Bezugsmodalitäten

Der Hauptband der Studie, in dem auf 992 Seiten die übergreifenden Ergebnisse, die spezielle Sicht der DAX30-Unternehmen sowie die Perspektiven von Vorständen, Budgetverantwortlichen und Projektleitern dargestellt werden, kostet 2.900,- Euro zzgl. MwSt. Zudem sind Ergänzungsbände für die fünf Branchen Finanzdienstleister (172 Seiten), Chemie und Grundstoffe (170 Seiten), Konsumgüter und Handel (168 Seiten), Automobilbau und Zulieferindustrie (173 Seiten) sowie Telekommunikation, Medien, IT und High Tech (172 Seiten) zum Preis von jeweils 800,- Euro zzgl. MwSt. erhältlich. Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Branchenbände nicht einzeln bezogen werden können, sondern ausschließlich in Verbindung mit dem Hauptband der Studie. Geliefert wird die Studie in elektronischer Form als PDF-Datei per E-Mail.

Bei Interesse senden Sie bitte eine E-Mail an studien(at)wgmb.org.