Books

… about consulting

Strategische Unternehmensberatung

Vahlen, 2009

In economically turbulent times, high expectations are placed on the consulting industry. Strategic management consulting occupies an outstanding position. The textbook comprehensively presents the psychological, analytical and holistic problem-solving methods commonly found in science and practice.

more
The role of management consultants in the context of the creation and spreading of management fashions is descriptively lit up. Building on this, the concepts, methods and approaches used in the consulting industry to develop value-oriented strategies at company level and competitive strategies at division level are described in detail.

This textbook is aimed at students, lecturers and scientists who are involved in the subject of management consulting. For practitioners on the consultant or client side, the book is an indispensable work of reference.

Management Consulting Fieldbook

Vahlen, 2004

For decades, the large management consultancies have been among the most innovative and productive sources of new management approaches. It is not uncommon for their ideas to have left their mark on the guiding principles of an entire management generation. Today, it is above all value- and growth-oriented management aspects that are given new impetus by consultants.

more
The Management Consulting Fieldbook provides an overview of important management approaches that have been developed by the major consulting companies in recent years. The second edition takes into account the far-reaching changes in the consulting market over the last three years, which have not only changed the structures of the industry, but have also produced new thematic focuses.

– Accenture
– Arthur D. Little
– A.T. Kearney
– The Boston Consulting Group
– Bain & Company
– Booz.Allen & Hamilton
– Cap Gemini Ernst & Young
– CSC Ploenzke
– Deloitte Consulting
– Mercer Management Consulting
– McKinsey & Company
– Star Stewart & Co.

“This book is a must for everyone, who wants to inform himself about the classical approaches and important new trends of management consulting”.
Consulting News

For executives, lecturers and students at universities and business schools, management consultants.

Die großen Management Consultants

Vahlen, 2003

The methods of the major management consultants are regarded as the benchmark of modern corporate management, their decisions are considered rational, objective and inviolable. Their analyses and findings determine the well-being and woe of many companies. But who is behind these consulting firms? How did they come about? What strategies do they pursue? According to which management principles do they – as influential “thought leaders of the business world” – shape the future of their clients?

more
This book deals critically with these questions. It takes a look behind the scenes of the leading management consultancies and sheds light on the structures of an elite industry through a comprehensive presentation of the history, concepts and strategies of ten major consultancies:

– Accenture
– Arthur D. Little
– A.T. Kearney
– Bain & Company
– The Boston Consulting Group
– Booz.Allen & Hamilton
– Cap Gemini Ernst & Young
– Mercer Management Consulting
– McKinsey & Company
– Roland Berger Strategy Consultants

For executives, lecturers and students at universities and business schools, management consultants.

Consulting im Gesundheitswesen

Springer, 2019

The digital transformation and the very specific market structures of the health care industry require differentiated consulting approaches which strengthen the growth of management consultancies in this sector. The book presents success factors for consulting projects. It focuses on the approach of complementary consulting in order to meet the diverse change requirements of digital transformation in the healthcare sector in a holistic manner.

more
The chapters in this book present examples of successful implementation from consulting projects in the healthcare industry. They offer practical assistance and inspiration to consultants, top managers and other decision-makers.

… about management

Macht in Unternehmen: Der vergessene Faktor

Springer, 2012

Hardly any other term is as discredited as that of power. It is associated with abuse, arbitrariness and irrationality, and the pursuit of it alone is considered suspicious. The regulating and formative function of power for and in organizations has been overlooked, as has the question of the origins and regulatives of power.

more
In contrast to other disciplines – such as philosophy and sociology – business administration has hardly dealt with the emergence and effects of power. And in practice, too, many managers shy away from a critical confrontation with their power and that of others. The aim of this book is to change this situation. Because only those who deal with the topic of power openly and impartially can effectively prevent its abuse and make its positive sides effective. In order to open as many doors as possible to a well-founded discussion, the book relies on a proven principle: that of interdisciplinarity. In 22 chapters the authors deal from different points of view with the numerous facets of power.

“A remarkable work that deserves wide attention.”
Professor Dr. Dr. Klaus Schwab
Founder and President of the World Economic Forum, Davos

Das Missing-Link-Prinzip

Hanser, 2009

“We know everything, but we are not doing it.” This sobering confession of a renowned German CEO is symptomatic of the situation of many companies: The gap between strategy and implementation, between knowledge and action, this gap is widening all the time. The question top management is now faced with is no longer: “Where do we want to go?”, but: “How do we actually manage to reach the position we are aiming for?”

more
Management professor Dietmar Fink and IBM managing director Matthias Hartmann shed light on a strategic aspect that has received little attention in current management literature so far. They show how the “missing links” – the gaps between strategy and implementation, between the opportunities of a company and its existing realities – can be identified and designed in a targeted way.

The book presents a methodology that has proven itself many times over in practice. Each step is illustrated using case studies and is backed up with extensive tables and checklists. In this way, managers can initiate the necessary steps themselves to pick up their company where it stands and lead it where it should go.

Outgrowing: Wachsen mit den Ressourcen starker Partner

Hanser, 2006

Growth is a central prerequisite for lasting economic success. Traditionally, it has been said that there are two ways for a company to achieve growth: organically or through acquisition. However, in times of saturated markets and scarce resources, both options increasingly reach their limits.

more
This book shows that in addition to classical strategies, there is a new, third way of growth: outgrowing – growth with the resources of strong partners. From an economic point of view it can be shown that outgrowing strategies can trigger a sustainable growth impulse, because in many cases it is only possible to successfully exploit new business opportunities in strong partnerships.

How is outgrowing implemented in the company? What hurdles and obstacles are involved – and how can they be overcome? Using ten vividly documented case studies (including IBM, BP, Deutsche Post, Procter & Gamble), the authors provide managers with a practical guide that enables them to successfully implement new growth strategies in their own companies.

Die dritte Revolution der Wertschöpfung

Econ, 2004

Companies are increasingly realizing that they need to organize their internal service processes, such as research and development, purchasing or human resources and accounting, better, faster and more cost-effectively: through a new form of outsourcing.

more
The management professor Dietmar Fink and the German managing directors of Accenture, Thomas Köhler and Stephan Scholtissek, show the value creation potential of innovation partnerships with external service providers and the resulting co-competencies, how they are developed and why they will be among the most important management principles in the future. With many practical examples, including Nokia, Deutsche Bank and BP.

Bücher

… zum Thema Beratung

Strategische Unternehmensberatung

Vahlen, 2009

In wirtschaftlich turbulenten Zeiten werden hohe Anforderungen an die Beratungsbranche gestellt. Die strategische Unternehmensberatung nimmt dabei eine herausragende Stellung ein. Das Lehrbuch stellt die in Wissenschaft und Praxis gängigen psychologischen, analytischen und holistischen Problemlösungsverfahren umfassend dar.

mehr
Die Rolle von Unternehmensberatern im Rahmen der Kreation und Verbreitung von Managementmoden wird anschaulich beleuchtet. Darauf aufbauend werden die in der Beratungsbranche eingesetzten Konzepte, Methoden und Ansätze zur Entwicklung wertorientierter Strategien auf Unternehmensebene sowie von Wettbewerbsstrategien auf Geschäftsbereichsebene detailliert beschrieben.

Dieses Lehrbuch richtet sich an Studierende, Dozenten und Wissenschaftler, die sich mit dem Gegenstand der Unternehmensberatung befassen. Für Praktiker auf Berater- oder Klientenseite ist das Werk ein unverzichtbares Nachschlagewerk.

Management Consulting Fieldbook

Vahlen, 2004

Die großen Unternehmensberatungen zählen seit Jahrzehnten zu den innovativsten und produktivsten Quellen neuer Managementansätze. Nicht selten prägten ihre Ideen das Leitbild einer ganzen Managementgeneration. Heute sind es vor allem wert- und wachstumsorientierte Managementaspekte, die durch die Berater neue Impulse erfahren.

mehr
Das Management Consulting Fieldbook gibt einen Überblick über wichtige Managementansätze, die in den letzten Jahren von den großen Beratungsgesellschaften entwickelt wurden. Die zweite Auflage trägt dabei den weitreichenden Umbrüchen des Beratungsmarktes der letzten drei Jahre Rechnung, die nicht nur die Strukturen der Branche verändert, sondern auch neue thematische Schwerpunkte hervorgebracht haben.

– Accenture
– Arthur D. Little
– A.T. Kearney
– The Boston Consulting Group
– Bain & Company
– Booz.Allen & Hamilton
– Cap Gemini Ernst & Young
– CSC Ploenzke
– Deloitte Consulting
– Mercer Management Consulting
– McKinsey & Company
– Stern Stewart & Co.

„Dieses Buch ist ein Muss für jeden, der sich über die klassischen Ansätze und wichtige neue Trends der Managementberatung informieren will“
Consulting News

Für Führungskräfte, Dozenten und Studierende an Universitäten und Business Schools, Unternehmensberater.

Die großen Management Consultants

Vahlen, 2003

Die Methoden der großen Managementberater gelten als Maßstab moderner Unternehmensführung, ihre Entscheidungen als rational, objektiv und unantastbar. Ihre Analysen und Befunde entscheiden über das Wohl und Wehe so manch eines Unternehmens. Doch wer verbirgt sich hinter diesen Beratungsunternehmen? Wie sind sie entstanden? Welche Strategien verfolgen sie? Nach welchen Managementprinzipien gestalten sie – als einflussreiche „Vordenker der Wirtschaft“ – die Zukunft ihrer Kunden?

mehr
Dieses Buch setzt sich kritisch mit diesen Fragen auseinander. Es wirft einen Blick hinter die Kulissen der großen Managementberatungsgesellschaften und erhellt durch eine umfassende Darstellung der Geschichte, Konzepte und Strategien zehn führender Beratungsunternehmen die Strukturen einer elitären Branche:

– Accenture
– Arthur D. Little
– A.T. Kearney
– Bain & Company
– The Boston Consulting Group
– Booz.Allen & Hamilton
– Cap Gemini Ernst & Young
– Mercer Management Consulting
– McKinsey & Company
– Roland Berger Strategy Consultants

Für Führungskräfte, Dozenten und Studierende an Universitäten und Business Schools, Unternehmensberater.

… zum Thema Management

Macht in Unternehmen: Der vergessene Faktor

Springer, 2012

Kaum ein Begriff ist so diskreditiert wie der der Macht. Sie wird mit Missbrauch, Willkür und Irrationalität verbunden, allein das Streben danach gilt als verdächtig. Dabei ist die regulierende und gestaltende Funktion der Macht für und in Organisationen aus dem Blick geraten, aber auch die Frage nach den Ursprüngen und den Regulativen von Macht.

mehr
Die Betriebswirtschaftslehre hat sich im Gegensatz zu anderen Disziplinen – etwa der Philosophie und der Soziologie – kaum mit dem Entstehen und den Auswirkungen von Macht beschäftigt. Und auch in der Praxis scheuen viele Führungskräfte eine kritische Auseinandersetzung mit ihrer Macht und der der anderen. Das Anliegen dieses Buches ist es, diesen Zustand zu ändern. Denn nur wer sich offen und unvoreingenommen mit dem Thema Macht auseinandersetzt, kann ihrem Missbrauch wirksam vorbeugen und ihre positiven Seiten nutzbar machen. Um einer fundierten Diskussion möglichst viele Türen zu öffnen, greift das Buch auf ein bewährtes Prinzip zurück: das der Interdisziplinarität. In 22 Kapiteln beschäftigen sich die Autoren aus unterschiedlichen Blickwinkeln mit den zahlreichen Facetten der Macht.

„Ein sehr gelungenes Werk, das es verdient, eine weite Beachtung zu finden.“
Prof. Dr. Dr. Klaus Schwab
Gründer und Präsident des Weltwirtschaftsforums, Davos

Das Missing-Link-Prinzip

Hanser, 2009

„Wir wissen alles, aber wir tun es nicht.“ Dieses ernüchternde Bekenntnis eines renommierten deutschen Vorstandschefs ist symptomatisch für die Situation vieler Unternehmen: Die Lücke zwischen Strategie und Umsetzung, zwischen Wissen und Tun, diese Lücke klafft immer weiter auseinander. Die Frage, die das Topmanagement heute beschäftigt, lautet nicht mehr: „Wohin wollen wir?“, sondern: „Wie schaffen wir es, tatsächlich in die angestrebte Position zu gelangen?“

mehr
Der Wirtschaftsprofessor Dietmar Fink und der IBM-Geschäftsführer Matthias Hartmann beleuchten einen strategischen Aspekt, der in der gängigen Managementliteratur bisher kaum Beachtung findet. Sie zeigen, wie die „Missing Links“ – die fehlenden Verbindungsstücke zwischen Strategie und Umsetzung, zwischen den Möglichkeiten eines Unternehmens und seinen bestehenden Realitäten – identifiziert und zielgerichtet gestaltet werden können.

Ihr Buch stellt eine Methodik vor, die sich in der Praxis vielfach bewährt hat. Jeder Schritt wird anhand von Fallbeispielen illustriert und ist mit umfangreichen Tabellen und Checklisten hinterlegt. So können Führungskräfte selbst die erforderlichen Schritte einleiten, um ihr Unternehmen dort abzuholen, wo es steht, und dahin zu führen, wo es hin soll.

Outgrowing: Wachsen mit den Ressourcen starker Partner

Hanser, 2006

Wachstum ist eine zentrale Voraussetzung für dauerhaften wirtschaftlichen Erfolg. Traditionell heißt es, dass einem Unternehmen hierzu zwei Wege offen stehen: organisches Wachstum oder Wachstum durch Akquisition. Doch beide Möglichkeiten stoßen in Zeiten gesättigter Märkte und knapper Ressourcen zunehmend an ihre Grenzen.

mehr
Dieses Buch zeigt, dass neben den klassischen Strategien ein neuer, ein dritter Weg des Wachstums existiert: Outgrowing – das Wachstum mit den Ressourcen starker Partner. Ökonomisch lässt sich zeigen, dass Outgrowing-Strategien einen nachhaltigen Wachstumsimpuls auslösen können, denn oft ist es nur noch in starken Partnerschaften möglich, neue Geschäftsgelegenheiten erfolgreich zu nutzen.

Wie wird Outgrowing im Unternehmen umgesetzt? Welche Hürden und Hindernisse gibt es – und wie lassen sie sich überwinden? Anhand von zehn anschaulich dokumentierten Fallbeispielen (u.a. IBM, BP, Deutsche Post, Procter & Gamble) geben die Autoren Führungskräften einen konkreten Leitfaden an die Hand, der sie in die Lage versetzt, neue Wachstumsstrategien im eigenen Unternehmen erfolgreich umzusetzen.

Die dritte Revolution der Wertschöpfung

Econ, 2004

Unternehmen erkennen zunehmend, dass sie ihre internen Serviceprozesse, etwa Forschung und Entwicklung, Einkauf oder Personal- und Rechnungswesen, besser, schneller und preiswerter organisieren müssen: durch eine neue Form des Outsourcing.

mehr
Der Wirtschaftsprofessor Dietmar Fink und die Deutschland-Chefs von Accenture, Thomas Köhler und Stephan Scholtissek, zeigen, welches Wertschöpfungspotential Innovationspartnerschaften mit externen Dienstleistern und auf diese Weise entstehende Co-Kompetenzen bergen, wie sie entwickelt werden und warum sie künftig zu den wichtigsten Managementprinzipien gehören. Mit vielen Praxisbeispielen, darunter Nokia, Deutsche Bank und BP.