Rankings

Based on our studies, we regularly publish rankings of the “best consultants” and the “best auditors” in Germany. For this purpose, we continuously talk to executives from major German companies – board members, heads of specialist departments, sponsors of consulting engagements, and project managers. Their experience and evaluations form the foundation for our rankings. They are a reflection of the competence that is attributed to the consultants in the various areas of the market.

In the following we have compiled some of the most recent rankings for the leading management consultants, the most important specialist consultants and the major accounting firms. In order to keep the data as easily comprehensible and comparable as possible, we have chosen a uniform presentation in all rankings: 100 percent corresponds to the maximum achievable value and thus an excellent attribution of competence. The intervals between the consultants are not always statistically significant and should therefore be understood as a tendency statement.

Since it is our aim to identify those consultants who are perceived as particularly effective in the market, but not to discredit particular consultants, we have only listed the five best consultants in each category in all rankings.

The leading management consultants

In this section, we focus on the most important management consultants in Germany (McKinsey, Boston Consulting Group, Bain & Company, Oliver Wyman, Roland Berger, Strategy& and A.T. Kearney), the management consulting divisions of the leading IT consultants (Accenture, IBM and Capgemini) and the consulting divisions of the four major accounting firms (PwC, EY, KPMG and Deloitte).

Selected rankings

Last update: August 2018

Strategic Planning
Boston Consulting Group 82%
McKinsey & Company 81%
Bain & Company 79%
Oliver Wyman 70%
Roland Berger 69%
Operations Management
McKinsey & Company 80%
Accenture 78%
Deloitte 73%
EY 71%
A.T. Kearney 70%
Mergers & Acquisitions
McKinsey & Company 80%
Boston Consulting Group 78%
Bain & Company 77%
EY 76%
KPMG / PwC 75%
Post Merger Integration
McKinsey & Company 81%
Boston Consulting Group 78%
Accenture 75%
Deloitte 72%
PwC 71%
Digital Transformation
Accenture 81%
McKinsey & Company 80%
Boston Consulting Group 76%
Bain & Company 75%
Deloitte 74%
Business Technology
Accenture 84%
Capgemini Consulting 79%
McKinsey & Company 77%
KPMG 74%
Deloitte 73%

Max = 100 % (excellent)

The most important specialist consultants

In this section, we look at medium-sized specialist consultancies that are less well known than the leading management consultants, but whose expertise in their field is certified by their clients as higher than that of the three “champions” McKinsey, BCG and Bain & Company. We refer to them as “hidden champions”.

Selected rankings

Last update: January 2018

Purchasing & Procurement
Kerkhoff Consulting 84%
h&z 81%
A.T. Kearney 76%
Boston Consulting Group 74%
Staufen 73%
Engineering & Production
ROI 81%
McKinsey & Company 78%
TMG Consultants 77%
Roland Berger 76%
Oliver Wyman 76%
Marketing & Sales
Prof. Roll & Pastuch 82%
Batten & Company 81%
Simon - Kucher & Partners 80%
McKinsey & Company 79%
Boston Consulting Group 78%
Distribution & After Sales
Barkawi 81%
Oliver Wyman 78%
A.T. Kearney 77%
Boston Consulting Group 74%
McKinsey & Company 71%
Lean Management
Staufen 78%
McKinsey & Company 74%
TMG Consultants 73%
ROI 72%
Boston Consulting Group 71%
Change Management
CPC 80%
Boston Consulting Group 77%
Strategy& 76%
McKinsey & Company 75%
undconsorten 74%

Max = 100 % (excellent)

The major accounting firms

In this section we look at the 25 audit firms with the highest turnover in Germany – including audit giants such as PwC, EY, KPMG and Deloitte as well as companies such as BDO, Rödl & Partner, Ebner Stolz and Baker Tilly.

Selected rankings

Last update: March 2019

Audit
KPMG 90%
PwC 89%
EY 85%
Deloitte 69%
BDO 61%
Tax
EY 87%
PwC 85%
KPMG 82%
Deloitte 71%
Rödl & Partner 64%
Management Consulting
Deloitte 85%
PwC 84%
EY 80%
KPMG 79%
Ebner Stolz 64%
IT Consulting
KPMG 85%
Deloitte 84%
EY 81%
PwC 80%
BDO 64%
Transactions
EY 90%
KPMG 86%
PwC 82%
Deloitte 73%
BDO 61%
Restructuring
Andersch 90%
PwC 88%
KPMG 84%
EY 83%
Deloitte 73%

Max = 100 % (excellent)

Rankings

Auf der Basis unserer Studien veröffentlichen wir regelmäßig Ranglisten der „besten Berater“ und der „besten Wirtschaftsprüfer“ in Deutschland. Hierzu tauschen wir uns kontinuierlich mit Führungskräften aus deutschen Großunternehmen und aus dem gehobenen Mittelstand aus – mit Vorständen und Aufsichtsräten, mit den Leitern von Fachabteilungen, mit Budgetverantwortlichen und Projektleitern. Ihre Erfahrungen und Einschätzungen bilden die Grundlage für unsere Rankings. Sie sind ein Abbild der Kompetenz, die den betrachteten Beratern auf unterschiedlichen Gebieten am Markt zugesprochen wird.

Im Folgenden haben wir einige der aktuellsten Rankings für die führenden Managementberater, die wichtigsten Spezialberater und die großen Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaften zusammengestellt. Um die Daten möglichst leicht nachvollziehbar und vergleichbar zu halten, haben wir in allen Rankings eine einheitliche Darstellung gewählt: 100 Prozent entsprechen dem maximal erreichbaren Wert und damit einer exzellenten Kompetenzzuschreibung. Die Abstände zwischen den Beratern sind dabei nicht in jedem Fall statistisch signifikant und insofern als Tendenzaussagen zu verstehen.

Da es unser Anliegen ist, diejenigen Berater aufzuzeigen, die am Markt als besonders leistungsfähig wahrgenommen werden, nicht jedoch einzelne Berater zu diskreditieren, haben wir in allen Rankings ausschließlich die jeweils fünf besten Berater einer Kategorie aufgeführt.

Die führenden Managementberater

In dieser Kategorie betrachten wir die wichtigsten Managementberater in Deutschland (McKinsey, die Boston Consulting Group, Bain & Company, Oliver Wyman, Roland Berger, Strategy& und A.T. Kearney), die Managementberatungsbereiche der führenden IT-Consultants (Accenture, IBM und Capgemini) sowie die Beratungssparten der vier großen Wirtschaftsprüfer (PwC, EY, KPMG und Deloitte).

Ausgewählte Rankings

Strategische Planung
Boston Consulting Group 82%
McKinsey & Company 81%
Bain & Company 78%
Roland Berger 72%
Strategy& 67%
Operations Management
A.T. Kearney 81%
McKinsey & Company 80%
Accenture 74%
KPMG 73%
PwC 72%
Mergers & Acquisitions
KPMG 77%
PwC 76%
McKinsey & Company 75%
Boston Consulting Group 75%
Bain & Company 71%
Post Merger Integration
McKinsey & Company 79%
Boston Consulting Group 75%
Accenture 74%
Bain & Company 69%
Deloitte 68%
Digitalisierung
Accenture 80%
McKinsey & Company 79%
Boston Consulting Group 75%
Bain & Company 74%
Deloitte 73%
Business Technology
Accenture 82%
IBM 77%
McKinsey & Company 76%
Capgemini 75%
PwC 71%

Max = 100 % (exzellent)

Die wichtigsten Spezialberater

In dieser Kategorie betrachten wir mittelgroße Spezialberatungen, die als „Hidden Champions“ zwar weniger bekannt sind als die führenden Managementberater, denen in ihrem Fachgebiet von ihren Kunden aber eine höhere Expertise bescheinigt wird als den drei „Champions“ McKinsey, BCG und Bain & Company.

Ausgewählte Rankings

Einkauf & Beschaffung
Kerkhoff Consulting 84%
h&z 81%
A.T. Kearney 76%
Boston Consulting Group 74%
Staufen 73%
Engineering & Production
ROI 81%
McKinsey & Company 78%
TMG Consultants 77%
Roland Berger 76%
Oliver Wyman 76%
Marketing & Vertrieb
Prof. Roll & Pastuch 82%
Batten & Company 81%
Simon - Kucher & Partners 80%
McKinsey & Company 79%
Boston Consulting Group 78%
Distribution & After Sales
Barkawi 81%
Oliver Wyman 78%
A.T. Kearney 77%
Boston Consulting Group 74%
McKinsey & Company 71%
Lean Management
Staufen 78%
McKinsey & Company 74%
TMG Consultants 73%
ROI 72%
Boston Consulting Group 71%
Change Management
CPC 80%
Boston Consulting Group 77%
Strategy& 76%
McKinsey & Company 75%
undconsorten 74%

Max = 100 % (exzellent)

Die großen Wirtschaftsprüfer

In dieser Kategorie betrachten wir die 25 umsatzstärksten Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaften in Deutschland – darunter neben Prüfungsgiganten wie PwC, EY, KPMG und Deloitte unter anderem Firmen wie BDO, Rödl & Partner, Ebner Stolz oder Baker Tilly.

Ausgewählte Rankings

Jahresabschluss
PwC 99%
KPMG 96%
EY 89%
Deloitte 71%
BDO 66%
Steuergestaltung
EY 86%
PwC 85%
KPMG 84%
Deloitte 71%
Rödl & Partner 66%
Managementberatung
PwC 81%
Deloitte 76%
KPMG 75%
EY 74%
Roever Broenner Susat Mazars 54%
IT-Beratung
KPMG 80%
PwC 77%
EY 73%
Deloitte 62%
BDO 52%
Transaktionsberatung
KPMG 91%
PwC 90%
EY 84%
Deloitte 73%
BDO 62%
Restrukturierungsberatung
KPMG 82%
PwC 79%
EY 75%
Deloitte 63%
Baker Tilly 61%

Max = 100 % (exzellent)